June 5, 2016

According to the Vice Presidents, who spoke after the meeting at South Sudan State House [Juba – J1], the trio have agreed to expand the number of presidential advisors from 10 to 19.

This issue of presidential advisors has been among the top controversial issues that the main parties failed to resolved in Addis Ababa.

According to Dr. Riek Machar Teny, his party [SPLM-IO] will nominate 6 out of the remaining 9 advisors and the 3 other advisors to be nominated by other parties.

This put the ratio at 52.6% for SPLM-IG, 31.6% for SPLM-IO and 15.8% for other political parties.

To establish Transitional Legislative National Assembly [TLNU), the South Sudanese leaders have resolved how to fill in vacant seats in the parliament should any seat falls vacant.

While Salva Kiir has already appointed 10 MPs that were confirmed by the presidency today, the rest of the remaining MPs shall be appointed after a joint consultation with their constituencies, president, First and Second Vice President.

To form the TLNU, other parties are urged to submit their nominees who will be approved by the Preisdency.

The new parliament of National Unity will also reinstate all the members of parliament(MPs) and all other civil servants who rebelled the former government of Salva Kiir.

Dr. Machar, The First Vice Preisdent, has been tasked to submit a comprehensive list of all the civil servants and MPs.

The preisdency further reaffirmed that all the independent commissions and institutions in the country shall be reconstituted based on powers ratios that were agreed on in the Agreement of Resolution of Conflict in South Sudan.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.