Kiir creates eight new states, fires central bank governor

No comments

January 15, 2017

Juba – South Sudan’s President Salva Kiir on Saturday night issued a decree creating eight new states in addition to the existing 28 states which were created in October 2015.

In presidential decree read out on state-run SSBC, Kiir created Central Upper Nile state, Northern Upper Nile state, Latjor state, Maiwut state, Bieh state, Akobo state, Tombura state and Gbudue state.

In another decree, President Kiir removed the Governor of Central Bank Kornelio Koriom Mayiik and replaced him with Dr. Othom Ajak.

Kiir also removed the Deputy Governor of Central Bank John Dor Majok, Governor of Bieh State Gen. Peter Bol Kong, Latjor Governor Peter Lam Both, Deputy Minister of Finance Mary Jervas Yak and First Undersecretary of the Finance Ministry Salvatore Garang.

Image may contain: 1 person, beard and closeup
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.